Move Over, It’s The Law
Posted in Car accidents on May 12, 2016
Move over Tennessee. Did you know you are breaking the law if you don’t slow down and move over to the farthest lane away when you see an emergency or utility vehicle on the side of a road or interstate? The Move Over Law has been in force in Tennessee for years, yet drivers are seemingly unaware of it.
Emergency workers, highway repairmen and utility workers risk their lives on a daily basis when they are attending the scene of a crash or making repairs on our roadways. The Move Over Law will save lives if drivers abide by it. It is important for all of us to raise awareness of this important safety law to help prevent tragic collisions such as the recent death of a dedicated TDOT worker.
Tennessee was the 30th state to establish a move over law which creates a safety zone to protect police, firefighters, other emergency personnel, and utility workers.
The penalty for violating the “Move Over Law” in Tennessee is a maximum fine of up to $500 and possibly up to 30 days in jail.
Please, help keep our fellow Tennesseans safe on the road. When you see flashing lights or a vehicle stopped on the side of the road, Slow Down and Move Over.
Authentic Attorneys. Trusted Tradition. Real Relationships.
Larry R. Williams, PLLC Attorneys at Law.