Car Insurance Resources for Low-Income Individuals in Tennessee
Posted in Car accidents on July 27, 2020
Vehicle accidents can be traumatic, and they can be financially devastating for victims. This is particularly true if a person does not have the proper auto insurance coverage in place when they are involved in an accident. Not only will the person without insurance be on the line for all expenses caused by an accident they cause, but they will also face expensive citations by law enforcement.
Many people assume that they cannot afford auto insurance in Tennessee. However, the financial consequences of not having insurance far outweigh any money saved on not paying insurance premiums. Here, we want to explore some of the resources available when purchasing auto insurance and where you may be able to find an affordable policy that provides adequate protection.
Tennessee car insurance minimums
In Tennessee, state law requires that drivers carry the following required minimum insurance coverage limits:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person
- Bodily injury liability: $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $15,000 per accident
You will notice that uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is not required in Tennessee, though it is highly recommended.
State-sponsored car insurance options for low-income families
Tennessee does not have any programs specifically designed to help subsidize car insurance premiums for low-income families. However, the Tennessee Automobile Insurance Plan (TNAIP) was created to provide auto insurance to those in the state who are considered high-risk and are unable to find coverage elsewhere.
Shop around for the best rates
Your best option to find the cheapest insurance rates is to get quotes from many different insurance carriers at one time. There are several third-party websites and phone apps that will allow you to enter your personal information and get quotes from various insurers, but you can also go directly to the insurance carrier’s website to get a quote. When you put in all of your information, write down the quote from that insurance carrier and then go to the next one. Find the cheapest one available and go with the best choice.
Reduce the number of cars you own
If you have several cars, but you only drive one of them frequently, you should consider selling the others. Your car insurance premium is going to be higher when you have more cars on the policy. If you have vehicles that you rarely drive, you are wasting money every month on insurance that you do not need. Consider selling your vehicles or turning in the plates and registration on the vehicles so you do not have to pay insurance on them. However, remember that it is illegal to drive any unregistered vehicle on the roadways in Tennessee.
Check for discounts
Most car insurance carriers offer various discounts to policyholders who meet certain qualifications. Though the type of discounts offered vary from insurer to insurer, some of the most common discounts you will find include the following:
- Safe driver discounts if you have not had any citations from law enforcement, such as speeding or DUI.
- Accident-free discounts if you have not been in an accident for a specific amount of time.
- Defensive driving discounts if you complete a defensive driving course and submit your certification to the insurer.
- Low-mileage discounts if you do not drive your car very often.
Regardless of where you find your insurance coverage, please do not operate your vehicle until you have obtain the minimum coverage required for Tennessee. If you have additional questions, reach out to our Nashville car accident attorneys.